Learning Center

Three Branches of Government (for kids)

Why are there 3 branches of government? Our country's Founding Fathers, the people who wrote the US Constitution, did not want any one person or group to have too much power. So, they divided the government into 3 branches. Each one has a different role, responsibility and power.

  • The Executive branch includes the President and the Vice President, plus the leaders who head different parts of government and who help the President make decisions (The Cabinet). The President approves laws, and ensures the country follows them.
  • The Judicial branch includes the court system, with the Supreme Court having the highest (most) power. The courts decide how laws are used and what they mean.
  • The Legislative branch includes Congress, made up of the House of Representatives and the Senate. In this branch, leaders create laws.

Learn more about checks and balances

Did you know that there are also 3 branches in state and local government? This is done for the same reasons!

North Carolina

Mecklenburg, Charlotte and towns